3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

oem fog lamp help

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2004, 06:28 PM
what can my max do for me

oem fog lamp help

hello all
warning - newbie's first question

so i'm new to this vehicle and also not 100% on the history of this specific unit. the fogs are busted and so i went to a local yard and picked up another pair. installed them and still nothing.

to be sure that i understand this correctly, the fogs only work with the headlamps on, correct? what about high beams, do they affect fog operation?

so with engine running and headlamps on, i push the fog switch and i can hear and feel the fog relay energize. ieven swapped in a known good relay (i.e. the a.c relay and obtained the same results). then i checked the connectors at the bumper and there was no voltage. i checked for continuity among like color-coded wires from the connectors to the relay and everything checked out fine.

where do i go from here?
Old 09-05-2004, 06:52 PM

Originally Posted by DaWifey's90
to be sure that i understand this correctly, the fogs only work with the headlamps on, correct? what about high beams, do they affect fog operation?

so with engine running and headlamps on, i push the fog switch and i can hear and feel the fog relay energize. ieven swapped in a known good relay (i.e. the a.c relay and obtained the same results). then i checked the connectors at the bumper and there was no voltage. i checked for continuity among like color-coded wires from the connectors to the relay and everything checked out fine.

where do i go from here?
first of all, the fog lights shut off with the high beams on. And you're correct on that they only turn on when you have the headlights on.... (unless you rewire it like some have done)

and I'm getting a little confused so lets make sure on the bolded part. You checked for voltage and got nothing? Or did that turn out fine, and you just wrote it up wrong.