3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Tein Custom Coilovers?

Old 08-08-2016, 08:42 PM

Tein Custom Coilovers?

First of all, Hi 3rd gen owners. I'm pretty new to Maximas and got a nice '93 for a really good price.

After a few months with her and some elbow grease, I've started looking into lowering options for my Max (KYB's sorta scare me as strut options and B&G's are a little too low to drive well around San Francisco) and came across custom springs/struts/coilovers on the Tien website. I was wondering if anyone here's tried or inquired about it.

I'm guessing $2500+ for coilovers is probably pretty steep, but owning this car for the last couple months in Cali hasn't been (they hate oldish cars) anyways. So I don't mind saving up a little for a good set of stuff.

Also, what else should I look into to upgrade suspension with the scarcity of aftermarket for these cars?

-Thanks,
TheGodDerp

Don't have many pics of her. This is after first wash<br/>

Plans include (as I save the money):

- BBK (Wilwood or Z32 4-pot)
- Fitting the set of spare TE's sitting at my parent's house
-"Borrowing" the old Greddy SP exhaust and Y-Pipe my dad never installed on his old Max
- Nice drop and rear swap bars
- Stillen kit

Last edited by TheGodDerp; 08-08-2016 at 08:54 PM.
Old 08-09-2016, 06:34 AM
2 VE's are better than one!

I didn't know that Tein offered a sort of "off the shelf" custom coilover option for $2,500 but that is very steep - ESPECIALLY these days considering most of these cars aren't even worth $2,500. There are basically none of us left any longer who would even remotely consider putting that much into coilovers. Maybe 10 years ago I would have, but these days I wouldn't. I'm perfectly content with my Eibach rear/Intrax fronts on my turbo VE and Eibach front/stock rears on my black stock VE.