4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

TPS cause bad gas mileage?help a noob...

Old 01-24-2005, 07:38 PM

Can faulty TPS cause bad gas mileage?

Hey guys, thanx for all the info you offer, it's proven invaluable(im a noob). Here's the deal. I bought a 98 gxe auto with 69k on it recently. I was getting a measly 16.5 mpg. SO, after reading my STICKYS I:

Cleaned throttle body
Cleaned IACV
Changed plugs to NGK coppers
Changed Air Filter
Did a "mini" tranny flush, 3 drain n fills(for tranny issues)
Changed oil (dino oil )

After that, my mileage readings were 18.8, then 22 mpg.
My most recent tho was around 17 again

SO I pulled code 0403 which sends me to the TPS. Could the TPS cause shi**y mileage? I DID have a case of stalling out on startup before i cleaned TB and IACV (that's why i did it!), but thats been okay.

Other "symptoms" ,if u will, are randomly sluggish acceleration, a hard 1-2 shift, a hard 2-1 downshift on occasion.

Does this sound like a shot TPS or one in need of some dealer love?

I dont have a multimeter to help diagnose, but where could i get one?autozone or hardware store i wonder?

I've been driving rather mildly, under 3500 rpms, 1/2 hiway, 1/2 local,wot maybe 1 time every 2-3 trips, really been takin it easy,running 92 or 93.

Anyway, thanks 4 the input, I appreciate all ur guys help. Hopefully i covered enuff bases not to get flamed on my 1st post lol
Old 01-25-2005, 07:29 AM

bump

anyone know? im sure SOMEONE can offer some info
Old 01-25-2005, 07:38 AM
I never narc'd on nobody.

wow, 17 mpg while driving so granny like? thats pretty bad, somethings gotta be wrong, but uhh... i dont even know what the TPS is...
Old 01-25-2005, 07:43 AM

For your spark plugs you should stick to Iridium.
Old 01-25-2005, 07:59 AM

Originally Posted by illmortal
For your spark plugs you should stick to Iridium.