4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Hard start when warm!

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2015, 01:13 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Hard start when warm!

*Just as a disclaimer, I'm fairly new to the world of mechanics*

But, it seems that being poor encourages you to learn things on your own.

182,000 miles
Car runs beautifully after it has started - But hard start when warm.

Hey all, I've been smacking myself silly trying to figure out what is happening with our Maxima.

So, back in April of this year, our FPR slowly began to go bad. Eventually the inner diaphragm cracked and so the entire fuel pressure on the rail fell apart causing tons of backfire and random misfire.

At first I had no idea what it could've been, so I decided to start off with changing the spark plugs. I picked up some Iridium NKG's and changes all six. However, when I got to the last ignition coil, I noticed that the coil was snapped in half and was held together by some sort of glue. So, I decided to change that too. After all this, no improvements. I figured perhaps the other ignition coils are bad, so I tested them as per the Haynes Manual, but all they all seemed to be healthy.

So after this I decided to inspect the fuel injectors. After relieving pressure within the fuel lines, I took apart the Upper Manifold and carefully took out each injector. 3 of the six were destroyed. The smaller O-rings were missing and the end caps were cracked. And so I ended up replacing all 6 injectors and the fuel filter (just because) put everything back together, still nothing!

Finally, after some more research I decided to replace the FPR. I started the car, and vroom! Started right up and ran like a champ! $350 later and all has been well for quite some time!

BUT! I now have codes for Knock Sensor P0325 and Ignition Primary 1320, that just keep coming back after resetting them!