4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

P0138 / P0139 - basics tried, what now?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2016, 03:42 PM

P0138 / P0139 - basics tried, what now?

I replaced the exhaust system on the '98 with a Bosal system. Not long after, I got a P0138/P0139.

The Bosal puts the oxy sensor in a much more direct path on the pipe. Figuring that was the issue, I got a 90 degree extender that puts the sensor about 2" total from the pipe (but it's full diameter inside). I also got a new Bosch sensor as I didn't want to fool with this repeatedly. Reset the codes.

Unfortunately it popped the code again in a few hundred miles. Reset it again. Got it again in a few hundred miles.

I didn't abuse the stock wiring and the sensor wiring is new.

One thought I had is that maybe I put the cat in backwards. There didn't seem to be any real indication which way it goes and it can install in either direction, but there is a "knub" on one end that might indicate something.

Another thought is that perhaps the cat is bad. I did have to drill out the studs and that took some oil around the studs, but I was careful not to get any inside the cat. If any leaked in, it would have been a tiny amount. But's it's possible a drop made it in.

Ideas? I could replace the cat, but it seems like a crap shoot. Also, I know some aftermarket cats throw codes anyway. I don't like throwing parts at it either. But, I only get to work on this car a couple times a year and I need to solve this in the next month before it goes away again for a long time.

Any ideas on what to try? I need the code off to pass inspection here and it's coming up in a month.
Old 12-07-2016, 04:03 PM

Get a Denso o2 sensor. Bosch is just a cheap alternative and in my experience, sucks. Also, check the o2 sensor fuse.
Old 12-08-2016, 06:47 AM

Originally Posted by maxima297