5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

P0420 related to bad/wrong fuel?

Old 11-24-2008, 04:18 PM

P0420 related to bad/wrong fuel?

I'm new to the Maxima scene so I've been searching to find what I can about this and I definitely know not to ask what fuel to run in it! So, here's some background on the issue I'm having:

Car: 2001 SE - 113k
I just replaced the plugs in it a week ago with NGK platinums. I checked all the gaps and they were at .44 so I think those are good. I also replaced the MAF meter. The car runs great, idles smooth, starts with no problem. About a day after the car threw code P0420. After looking, it sounds like I should be running at least 89 or higher and I've been running 87. It was also the 2nd tank of 87 that I've run through the car so I'm wondering if that plays into it?

I double checked all the plugs and coil packs and also checked the installation of the intake tube to the MAF and TB. Any other thoughts?

Last edited by goathead; 11-24-2008 at 05:35 PM.
Old 11-24-2008, 07:07 PM
SHIFT_om nom nom nom

Your gas cap is loose. Screw in better, unplug battery, and reset ECU. This has thrown 99.9% of the time I've seen it on the boards.

PS - I've been running 87 for years with no problems
Old 11-24-2008, 09:31 PM
Willing to learn

P0420 is the Bank 1 catalyst efficiency code. It has nothing to do with the gas cap. Sometimes it has been cured with a new rear O2 sensor, but it usually means replacing the entire y-pipe to fix it for good. The Bank 1 precat is contained there.
Old 11-24-2008, 09:38 PM

I have had the same code show up... It has been at the shop for two weeks in and out trying to fix the rough shifting, lean codes from the MAF etc.

I was told the code meant to replace the front Caty and 02sens to fix the problem. I don't have $1500 to cough up to make the light go away, so until I have to pass smog, this is how I am leaving it.