5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Bogging under load (New MAFS, IM Gaskets...) Help!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2012, 05:01 PM

Bogging under load (New MAFS, IM Gaskets...) Help!

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum, but I've been stealing all of your killer info to help me out for the past week or so with my new-to-me Maxima. I picked up the car with a multitude of issues, all but one of which I have been able to solve. I'm a pretty capable mechanic, but I'm not an expert or a professional. In any case, down to business;

Vehicle in question: 2002 Maxima SE 6-Speed 169k

Installed new intake manifold gaskets yesterday, including the upper plenum gasket -- Helped my idle problem

I just installed a new MAFS today. 22680-2Y001 from a 2001 Maxima and used my original Air temp thermistor -- Solved my idle problem.

The car wouldn't idle at all before I changed the IM gaskets, it would just die. I've got it idling pretty smooth now, HOWEVER...

When I put my foot down on the throttle more than approximately 50-55% (according to my freeze data), it bogs and bumbles along. No VQ glory at all! Under light load, it will accelerate fine, but if you try to drive spiritedly at all, forget it. List of all that I know to have been changed.

MAFS - Brand New from Dealer
IM Gaskets
2 Coils - Previous Owner replaced two on the front for some reason and no others
Spark Plugs - All are NGK-R's, and seem to fire just fine though I can't be sure they have been changed. --Probably my next course of action.
Injectors looked clean - Sprayed them with MAFS cleaner while I had the manifold off for good measure.

I have also let the car idle and sprayed MAFS cleaner near/on all the vacuum lines/intake seals to see if the revs picked up any (that's how I determined my IM upper plenum gasket leak) with no luck finding anything.