5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Lowered the car now rear axle bent?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2013, 06:56 AM

Lowered the car now rear axle bent?

Sorry im a noob to all this, But i put my H&R lowring springs on, took my car to get it aligned and they told me that my rear axle is bent. and that i would need to get a new axle beam. I talked to someone and they told me i need a camber kit. I also looked online and fount this QT link for a sentra. What should i do?

http://www.b15sentra.net/forums/showthread.php?t=175733 - QT link

Dont know if you can see that. When i got my alignment done before my springs it was perfectly fine. and didnt get into any accidents.
Old 09-14-2013, 07:19 AM
Get Off My Lawn

No way springs "bent" anything. There is no such animal as a camber kit for the rear. There is NO SUCH THING as a rear alignment on these cars given the rear beam. It's just not possible.

There's only a couple things that can happen in terms of alignment. First, although I've heard no evidence of this, I imagine that if your rear trailing arm bushings go bad that there could be some movement of the rear beam and throw the tracking of the rear end off. But, that is resolved with replacing the bushings with ES inserts. There's a few threads on that.

Second, (and this is the main issue people deal with) that when you lower.... the rear beam will begin to shift toward the passenger side. There are MANY threads outligning this, specifically the ones that talk about that QT link you mentioned. So, I'm not going to get into the dynamics. But, if your rear has shifted to the passenger side and you begin to have wheel scrub on that side when you hit bad dips in the road.... getting the QT link can help because it will push the rear beam back toward the driver side.