5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Clutch Pedal Position Scale

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2015, 06:45 AM

Clutch Pedal Position Scale

I just purchased a 2002 Nissan Maxima SE ($3000 with fixes and purchase price, will post project details another time)

Since im new to this line of cars, i dont know what a regular/new clutch & pedal should feel like, so ill give a basic diagram describing the pedal feel from the position when its pressed all the way in to when its released.

Clutch feel:

1------2------------------3------4

1 - Floor
1-2 - Pedal has lots of resistance to get to the floor
2-3 - basically feels like a dead zone
3 - clutch feels like its finally catching
3-4 - clutch starts engaging
4 - full pedal release

can you guys tell me your pedal feel similar to above so i know how to compare?

Thanks in advance
Old 06-26-2015, 08:26 AM

That seems about right. These cars aren't known for having great feeling clutch pedals.

The pedal can be adjusted but you could be opening a can of worms if you get it wrong.
Old 06-26-2015, 08:59 AM

do you also feel the high resistance between positions 2 and 1?
Old 06-26-2015, 10:52 AM

I did swap last year and the clutch on this thing seems to be a bit of a bear.

It requires moderate to heavy pressure to get to the floor. I did remove the stock clutch line contraption and just went with a straight SS line.

I adjusted my engagement. According to your scale: 1-2 dead zone. 2 mine starts to engage and by 3 it is the clutch is fully engaged.

It can be adjusted. Check the FSM to see how to adjust.
Old 06-26-2015, 01:31 PM

Originally Posted by ateick
I did swap last year and the clutch on this thing seems to be a bit of a bear.

It requires moderate to heavy pressure to get to the floor. I did remove the stock clutch line contraption and just went with a straight SS line.