5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

2000 3.0 p0304 loss of power under hard acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2016, 07:01 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

2000 3.0 p0304 loss of power under hard acceleration

Hello, I'm new to the org and I've been doing a lot of searching and haven't really found anything related to the problem I'm having.

First off a little about the car in question. Auto trans, 3.0, mileage unknown, modified injen cai, manzo headers and y-pipe, cat-less, no b1 s2 o2, no b2 s2 o2, maf a year ago recently cleaned, upper IM gasket a year ago, ngk iridium 9 plugs, cleaned TB,also tested resistance on all injectors (read 18-20 respectfully).

Now for the issue at hand. I've had the car for 2 years now and I've had the p0304 cylinder 4 misfire since I've owned it, but for about 10 months I've been experiencing a huge power loss when gas pedal is pressed 1/3 to full throttle, between 3k-5k rpms especially at OT. At this point I'm scratching my head. Pulled codes today still have the same p0304, as for the reason I tested my injectors. I also ordered a vias block off plate because I've read in a thread that this could be a problem with acceleration. I haven't installed it yet, been too busy with work and me being a little lazy, lol. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

A little idea of what we are discussing

2" megan racing lowerng springs, fcs performance struts, all new front suspension parts, 19mm hub adapters, 235/40/18 uhp velozza, black and red TRD rims, and custom painted grille.
Old 04-20-2016, 11:25 PM
Administrator

Easy problem to diagnose and fix. Since your code is 0304, that's the fourth cylinder, which is dead middle right in front of the manifold (not underneath). Hopefully when you do the diagnostic, this cylinder does indeed fail.