7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Battery charging issues, Reman alternator on 2010 Max

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2018, 10:36 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Battery charging issues, Reman alternator on 2010 Max

Greetings all, long time lurker, first time posting. I am not a car expert by any means, but have been trying to learn little by little, building up my tool collection and using the info in these forums for working on smaller level projects. This post is for a 2010 Maxima (wife's car).

The car's battery voltage stays at around 13.0 V when in P, N, and D, and drops steadily while driving. The lowest I've seen it get after about 15 minutes driving near my home base has been 12.8V.

Shifting to reverse, the voltage shoots up to 14V and keeps steady at 13.8V - 14V, which is what I'd expect at all times when the car is on. The alternator was replaced about a year ago with a remanufactured one from Pep Boys by a trustworthy mechanic. The "new" alternator was already tested twice and is working to spec.

In-use voltages have been observed by one of those cup-holder USB chargers that reports the voltage at the port (not entirely accurate, but it has been within 1-2V when testing with a multi meter at the battery).

Backstory:
Two years ago, we were hit head on the drivers side quarter panel by an older lady trying to avoid someone backing out of a shop (video available for anyone interested in seeing it). Plenty of damage to the tune of ~$6k, about $1500 which was put in by us out of pocket (we stupidly claimed the accident to our insurance, instead of the lady's mandatory government insurance).