8th Generation Maxima (2016-) Let's see what Nissan has to offer on the 8th generation Maxima

Need Help: Curb side scratches on rim

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2016, 02:53 PM

Need Help: Curb side scratches on rim

Anyone have solutions to fixing this? 2016 nissan maxima owner
Old 10-08-2016, 05:53 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Same here. My teen just did the same thing to the rear passenger rim on our 2 month old Maxima. There are wheel repair kits with sandpaper and paint, but I've never used them before.
Old 10-09-2016, 04:54 AM

Check your area for wheel repair shops. There are several around my area, they actually
don't have a building they work from. They have a location around car dealerships where they setup shop and do rim repairs(work out of a van). If not you could ask your local Nissan dealer.
Old 10-10-2016, 03:09 AM

Those wheel repair guys are really happy with the 8th gen Maxima. Having owned Maximas of all gens other than the first (and having carpooled in a 1st gen Maxima for two years), I can honestly say that the 8th gen wheels are easily the easiest to damage of any gen Maxima. That is because the wheels actually stick out to the side as far as the tires do, so, if the curb is truly vertical, and the car is moving parallel with the curb, the wheel hits the curb at the same time the tire hits it. I knew from day one I would not be parking close beside any curb. Ever.
Old 10-10-2016, 12:06 PM

Originally Posted by lightonthehill