Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

i'm very new to the audio world..and i need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2001, 10:47 AM
Ch12i5

I plan to upgrade my sound system in my 96 Maxima. All I want is punchy bass, and clear mids and highs. I just want a decent amp to provide the best possible sound through the speakers and provide good power for bass.

I've been doing a little homework, but I may have been going in the wrong direction. I'm interested in these:

Front Door Speakers:

Infiniti Kappa 63.1i (6 1/2)

Rear:

Infiniti Kappa Components 60.2cs

Amp:

Rockford Fosgate...?

Subs:

Rockford Fosgate?

I'm not sure...can someone advise me on my system? please give me your opinions and recommendations. Thanks.

Old 03-24-2001, 10:56 AM
Adam01GXE

I don't think that you can go wrong with infinity stuff especially their perfect series. People will probably tell you to put the components up front though. What you should do is just go and listen to some to get a better idea. Even though it'll sound different in your car, you'll be able to compare a couple of different brands. I know that a local shop where I used to live sold used stuff as new so if you get a bad feeling about a sales guy, take your business elsewhere.

Old 03-24-2001, 10:58 AM
Ch12i5

thanks

thanks for your help. i messed up...yeah, i was planning to put the components up front, and the 6 1/2s in the back. i don't want ANY sound distortion...or very little. Perfects are tempting..but aren't they super pricey?

Old 03-24-2001, 03:18 PM
Adam01GXE

Re: thanks

Originally posted by Ch12i5
thanks for your help. i messed up...yeah, i was planning to put the components up front, and the 6 1/2s in the back. i don't want ANY sound distortion...or very little. Perfects are tempting..but aren't they super pricey?