Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Higher Wattage AMP over lower watt SUB

Old 06-09-2002, 03:01 AM

Higher Wattage AMP over lower watt SUB

In just the comparison of RMS, not max watts, will RMS of higher watt amp blow up lower watt sub? vice versa?

price for 800watt and 1200 watt amps are not too different for a 750watt sub, and i was wondering if 1200watt amp would harm the sub..

cadence Z9000 amp is 800watts
jbl 1200.1 amp is 1200watts
kicker 12" L7 is 750watts

all at rms. As you guys can see, i'm a newb, so don't burn me
Old 06-09-2002, 07:27 PM

Re: Higher Wattage AMP over lower watt SUB

Originally posted by Max4Good
In just the comparison of RMS, not max watts, will RMS of higher watt amp blow up lower watt sub? vice versa?

price for 800watt and 1200 watt amps are not too different for a 750watt sub, and i was wondering if 1200watt amp would harm the sub..

Most people will say yes it will harm the sub but you cant blow a sub or any other speaker for that matter by giving it too much juice what actually blows speakers is clipping them or driving them into distorsion that is what actually blows them.
Old 06-09-2002, 09:22 PM

Re: Re: Higher Wattage AMP over lower watt SUB

Originally posted by Damion

Most people will say yes it will harm the sub but you cant blow a sub or any other speaker for that matter by giving it too much juice what actually blows speakers is clipping them or driving them into distorsion that is what actually blows them.
and clipping and distortion is cause by an amp that can't put out enough power to push a sub...
Old 06-09-2002, 09:27 PM

You could also have the benefit of being able to get another sub without have to get another amp if you go high power now. For example run one sub 4 ohm now and if you decide to upgrade somewhere down the line just run em at 2 ohm
Old 06-09-2002, 09:48 PM