3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Door keypad is failing...options??

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2005, 07:48 AM

Door keypad is failing...options??

Any opinions on options needed please.....

Here is the situation: my 93' GXE Maxima's driver side keypad on the door is failing (got to push real hard on the buttons if they work at all) unfortunately I do not have the door keys (I bought the car from my fiance and she has no idea where the door keys are) so my only way in right now is through the passenger side keypad (which is nice and springy!)

So I guess I have 3 options;
1. Fix the door keypad - can you do this? Are they fixable like you used to rebuild the Atari 2600 joystick controller(if you don't know what I mean just keep reading...LOL)
2. Get keys made for the doors - I have no experience in this area
3. Purchase a simple keyless entry system - Does not need to be fancy with alarm etc. just a $50 one, never hooked one of these up but I have wired up car stereos I imagine I should be able to handle it then?

Any help is appreciated.
Old 01-23-2005, 08:22 AM
I will eat your children

i think you can pop out the keylees pad and resoder it.
Old 01-23-2005, 03:14 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I had that problem and asked dealer about it. Cost 80 bucks to replace one door side however if they install it then thatll be a biatch they got to take door apart and its expensive.
Old 01-23-2005, 06:09 PM

even if you do buy a cheap $50 alarm, installation is gonna cost u around 100-150... unless u know how to do it ur self, in which case i would recommend doing that
Old 01-23-2005, 06:10 PM

oh and how do u even get the car started then, if you dont have the key for it, since the keys for the doors and ignition are the same... hotwire?
Old 01-23-2005, 07:59 PM

Originally Posted by kpic
Any opinions on options needed please.....