4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

The mid-pipe////intake myth.. Help

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2004, 10:13 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

The mid-pipe////intake myth.. Help

So are you saying to not even bother with a Cold air intake or an intake at all. Just leave it all stock as far as filter and everything.. OR is the midpipe higher up on the intake... So lets say i buy one of the Cold air intakes from ebay that is $50-70... Are you all saying that is actually going to hurt my PULL... That is what it sounds like but i am a bit confused on the midpipe to intake.. Sorry guys im new with max's.. used to running hondas.... so glad im converted... Much nicer vehicles..
Old 01-28-2004, 10:15 AM
Hooooooonda.....

I think replacing the resonator with a mid-pipe should help a bit. I know Dave B used to praise the resonator but later said it didn't make a difference. Also just make your own if you want.
Old 01-28-2004, 10:29 AM

Here's the general ideas:

Stock airbox - Low end
Hybrid - mid-high end increase, tradeoff some low end
CAI - low end, tradeoff some mid-high end
HAI - high end, tradeoff low-mid range

It's all a bunch of junk IMHO, the intake barely makes any difference from what people say and all dyno relatively near one another. I know that i got increases all throughout the power band, but i think it was due to cleaning my TB, mid-high end i attribute to the cleaned TB and a bit from the midpipe + cone.

LEMAR
Old 01-28-2004, 10:29 AM

I always thought midpipe helped high-end/hurt low-end, while the stock resonator helped low-end/restricted high-end.
Old 01-28-2004, 12:48 PM

Sweet thanks guys