4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Anyone done a Motor Swap with a 4th gen?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2004, 02:03 PM

Anyone done a Motor Swap with a 4th gen?

I've been thinking about doing a motor swap and putting in a VQ35DE
with the 6speed transmission. Has anyone ever attempted this project or even thought about it?
If im correct i'd have to buy a motor, tranny, computer, and have custom engine mounts made. Im still new to the modding thing and i want to go all out.
(major reason i want this is to get the 3.5L engine and put the 4.3 stroke kit to upgrade it)

So if anyone has knowledge of this project or have any idea where i could ge more info, just post what ever you can.
Thanks
Old 07-27-2004, 02:04 PM
I'm needing a caw

Just bolts right in. One day at the most
Old 07-27-2004, 02:10 PM

Yup, took me a few hours, even bolted on a dual exhaust with it too.
Old 07-27-2004, 02:13 PM

Am i on the correct track of thinking (tranny, motor, computer ect,.)
Is that 1 day for the mechanically enclined or one day for the mechanically stupid?
Old 07-27-2004, 02:20 PM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.......................oh man, yall are just mean, jeff and ant, pickin on the new guy and making think the near impossible is more than just possible.

well, im goin to break it to ya, this project is probaly the hardest thing to do on the car, and when they say a day to do, they mean like a month for a VERY mechanically inclined person. there is a guy on here thats doin it and he is postin pics through his whole ordeal, his name is like vylsomax or something like that. if i were you i wouldnt even bother to do this.

just stick to your name and put a V2 supercharger in with a 50 shot and you will be more than happy, and with those two things your max will be faster than you could ever imagine.

good luck, and read the stickies...........ie: FAQS
Old 07-27-2004, 02:32 PM