4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

R&R Cylinder Head

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 07:04 PM

R&R Cylinder Head

Ok, as some may already know, my Rear TC Case O Ring replacement has now turned into 2 bent valves on the front bank and now I will be removing the front head and getting a machine/valve job done on it. I am a total noob to the mechanic world and honestly to the hands on world in general. I really want to thank the org members for all the advice and help I received that made the work I've done so far possible. It sounds like bad news to most that I bent 2 valves because I got my timing off, but I think of it as an incredible learning experience and it was well worth every hour of blood and sweat. I now feel confident I can do just about anything on my car and I picked up my first ratchet in November '09. Once I get the head done, I will post a how to on pulling the head which will include the o ring replacement I originally planned on doing. I hope this will help some brave noobs in the future so they don't make the same mistakes I made.

So I pretty much have to do the exact same thing for replacing the o rings except also remove the cams and the 10 bolts on the head. I have a couple of questions cause I don't want to go into anything else blind.

1-Anyone know of a good machine shop in the north Houston, TX area? I want a trustworthy shop but I don't know anything at all about machine shops. I live in Spring, TX.

2-Any other suggestions of what I should do while I'm in there? I already replaced the water pump and the TC guide and tensioner. I think I need to do the head gasket and the upper and lower intake gaskets. Do I need to put RTV on any of these gaskets or just torque it to spec and move on?