4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Trying a new brand of CV axles

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2016, 10:16 PM

Trying a new brand of CV axles

Ok I've been using GSP axles from Advance Auto for over 5 years. In that time the name has changed, but the part numbers have stayed the same. I guess I've been lucky that I didn't experience any vibration or noise issues that others have reported with GSP axles. The one area that has been a disappointment is with boot life.

So I knew I needed to replace the passenger side CV axle on the 99 SE 5-MT. I remember the car had one fairly new CV axle and one with a heavily torn boot that I quickly replaced after purchase. That replacement was in the winter of 2012. It turned out the one of the axle boots split open and started slinging grease.

Today I replaced anti-sway bar link bushings with some Whiteline Performance poly bushings and noticed the newer CV axle boot had the start of a tear near the clamp. It looked like one of the metal boot clamp rubbed against the boot and split it open. I think the boot material on the GSP axles is thin compared to the ancient boots that came with the 98 model GLE.

Since one of the axles came with a lifetime warranty, I thought about exchanging it for another one just like it. However, I've been looking for a better axle. So I stopped by O'Reilly Auto Supply and talked to them about their axles. They carry a brand named Master Pro that looks like the usual value line CV axles from China. I talked to the guy behind the counter and found they carry a slightly more expensive line named Import Direct.

They happened to have some in stock to fit the 5 MT so I took a look. I liked what I saw and noticed the boot material appeared to be thicker than the GSP axles.