Maxima Forums

Maxima Forums (https://maxima.org/forums/)
-   5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) (https://maxima.org/forums/5th-generation-maxima-2000-2003-7/)
-   -   Loud engine rattle at (cold) start-up? (https://maxima.org/forums/5th-generation-maxima-2000-2003/197858-loud-engine-rattle-cold-start-up.html)

CHAZMAX 12-17-2003 04:50 PM

Loud engine rattle at (cold) start-up?

Sorry if this may have been discussed before...

I live in Houston, so it doesn't get cold around here too often, and I always have my car parked in garage. Well, I left my car in driveway overnight and all the next day. It got down to about 30 degrees that night and remained cold during the next day. That evening I started my car, and there was a LOUD rattling noise from engine. I'm no mechanic, but it sounded like the lifters tapping. It did it in my old Mustang sometimes, but never THIS loud. It took a few minutes to slowly go away.

Checked oil, it was full. I use synthetic also.

Is this normal?

My guess would be that it does this in cold weather after sitting for a while.

But is it always gonna be that damn loud? :gotme:

bigdo26 12-17-2003 05:00 PM

it is normal, there is also a TSB for it. i believe its been determined to be the timing chain that makes the rattle. so far it hasnt been a problem, just a nusiance

maximatt 12-17-2003 05:12 PM

i have the same exact problem...mine lasts for about a second or 2...it only happens when its really cold and the car has been sittin for a while. i start the car and when the rmps reach there peek i hear that rattle....its very quick. i called nissan and they said i would have to leave the car over night. im really thinkin about it, im gettin annoyed. Also my 2000 max did the same thing to....so well see

BrandonSE 12-17-2003 06:14 PM

Originally Posted by maximatt