5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

5th Gen "I AM NEW HERE BUT HAVE A QUESTION" thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2010, 02:10 PM

custom maxima

is custom maxima parts good ? or is crap stuff
Old 10-17-2010, 04:45 PM

im a newb here been commenting on some threads but cant seem to make a new thread, idk why? i have several problems with my 03 max that i have narrowed down to some research but one that i cant seem to figure out is that my check engine light does not turn on. i live in cali and when i got my smog done it failed because the guy told me i had some codes? i told him its not possible, the check engine light is not on. so i came home hooked up the scanner and sure enough had a code. i tried looking in the fuse boxes for a blown fuse or something but can seem to find anything. can anyone shed some light on what could be the problem? does the check engine light have its light bulb in the back of the cluster that was removed or possibly blown that i can replace? would appreciate the help my temporary permit is almost up i need to get this baby smogged again thanks in advance.
Old 10-17-2010, 04:49 PM

You might have had a pending code, which the CEL will not come on. What is the code, and does this CEL light come on for a second when you first start the car?
Old 10-17-2010, 05:02 PM

that what i tough that i had a pending code, and no the light does not come when i open the keynor when i turn on the car
Old 10-17-2010, 06:56 PM

Originally Posted by michael454rs
that what i tough that i had a pending code, and no the light does not come when i open the keynor when i turn on the car
That means that either your SES light bulb is burnt or (like in my case) was removed by someone. You wil need to remove the cluster to find out.
Also, as it was said, find out the exact codes and post back with that information.
Old 10-17-2010, 07:00 PM