5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

5th Gen "I AM NEW HERE BUT HAVE A QUESTION" thread

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 08:46 PM

Yet another coolant leak question.

Hello. Newbie here.

First off, love the site. Has proven to be very helpful. Thank you. I've been having a very miminal coolant leak that puzzles me. My 2K Max has never overheated, just leaves a very small amount of coolant on the ground every few days. I have read many threads and most point to the water pump. Others have mentioned an oil cooler tube which my car does not have. One also mentioned a "pump shaft seal" or a "freeze plug" I believe. To be sure where the leak is coming from, I removed the alternator and A/C compressor to get a better look at things. I pressure tested the system and the leak seemed to come from where the front engine cover meets the actual block by the A/C compressor. I'm leaning towards just replacing the water pump to see what happens. I'm just curious if any one out there has had to dissassemble the front of the engine and cover to fix a coolant leak. Any advice/info would be appreciated. Thanks again for a great site.
Old 04-20-2011, 10:53 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by Gravel
The ONE key I have is black with Nissan stamped on it. It has a little blue square in the bottom. How could I get a master key for my car? The dealer told me they could cut and program me a key for $150. Would it be a master if cut by a dealer?
The dealer is just low-balling you to get a couple of bucks off your pocket. The key you have is a master key, you glovebox might be jammed shut..

If you bring it to a regular mechanic, I'm sure they'll figure out someway to open it for you and get it to work.

It's a 2000, there's no need for a key to be "programmed"
Old 04-21-2011, 05:47 AM
Suspension Yoda

Originally Posted by jfreezy2kjdm