All Motor All Motor Advanced Performance. Talk about Engine Swaps, Internal Engine work. Not your basic Y pipe and Intake Information.

00VI, To do or not to do.

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2010, 07:47 AM

00VI, To do or not to do.

I have looked over numerous 00VI Swaps and I comfortable about what I need to do. From my research I want to do a Gen 4 lower, sensors, TB with 00VI.

My 1999 I30 is my daily driver. I drive 25-30k miles a year with my commute. I am a capable mechanic who does 99% of his own maintenance. I am someone who has in the past modified many of my other cars and I have another vehicle that is pretty fast. However, I can't have my I30 down for a much more than a weekend. It can't turn into one of my projects. I could perhaps go a couple days past if ran into problem getting parts.

I just got my I30 6 weeks ago. It was my mothers car and she is the original owner. I have 125k miles on it. The car has been babied since day 1 and has always had regular synthetic oil changes. The auto transmission fluid has been changed at least 2 or 3 times well. However, I do like cars that acceleration. This car wasn't my first choice but the price was right (free). If I was looking to buy Maxima/I30, I would have held out for a 5 speed. The car I really wanted was an Mitsubishi Evolution, but my wife is/was dead set against those. I was probably going to buy a WRX or STi, but that is when the I30 came along. I will probably keep this car 3 years.

My only mod right now is a Y-Pipe.

I started thinking about things I want to do for maintenance, so I was going to pull the intake and replace the Knock Sensor, Clean EGR pipe, and replace the spark plugs (original 125k one).

I started to think I really not that far off from a 00VI intake and got the ball rolling in research. I do like more power and it seems like this is the best bang for $.