General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Nissan set to discontinue the Maxima

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2019, 10:38 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Nissan set to discontinue the Maxima

If I have my date correct it should be in 2023. possible 2021.
Old 01-23-2019, 12:08 PM

Provide a link or prepare to be
Old 01-23-2019, 12:39 PM

With the emphasis Nissan puts on the Altima, I can believe it. You rarely see the Maxima in television or magazine ads.
Old 01-23-2019, 06:59 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

No link. I'm an Engineer for a Tier 1 automotive parts manufacturer for several automotive assembly plants, Nissan, Ford, FCA and others. The Nissan Maxima (L42N) being one of the programs we have. Going over existing and future business plans with our CEO today, it was brought up that Nissan would be discontinuing the Maxima model in 2023. (A co-worker thought he said 2021). Either way, it does follow with the automotive industry in general as Ford, GM and even FCA have plans to no longer produce sedans. FCA may keep the Charger for a while. The trend is toward SUVs and trucks. It also tracks since our supplier contracts are generally 3-5 years out (building of tooling requirements/equipment etc).

Last edited by Barney512; 01-23-2019 at 07:09 PM.
Old 01-23-2019, 10:16 PM

Next gen Maxima is/was? well under way according to Nissan. BUT it does not mean they could have had a change of heart and cancel it. Hence riding out the current refresh wave until they drop the hammer on the Maxima. Smart move. It would still give them sales while making money but leave unsuspecting customers in the dust, while remaining tight lipped about next gen or not.
Old 01-24-2019, 07:31 AM