Nitrous Discuss dry, wet, and direct port nitrous setups. How many shots can you handle?

Best complete Newbie kit?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2007, 05:59 AM

Best complete Newbie kit?

Whats the best kit, for a novice in the n2o feild. I am looking for a kit thats not too hard for the install (I assume a dry kit) and one that includes all parts and hoses.

Please advise, as I want to buy a kit by tonight, or tomorrow morning, so the weekend at the track will be of pleanty fun.

Thanks
Old 11-27-2007, 07:04 AM
Turbo 3.5

I installed but wet and dry kits and neither one was harder than the other

dry you tap the vac line to controll the amount fuel

and wet to tap the fuel line

if know you will never go above a 75shot go dry but chances are you will want to run 100shot or higher so I would say get the wet
Old 11-27-2007, 07:57 AM
NWP Engineering.com

It really depends how knowledgeable you are with nitrous and what your ultimate goals are. How large of a shot do you plan on going? Do you know how to read plugs? Do you have a wideband o2 sensor?

If you want a newbie kit, then just go with a 35 or maybe 50 shot Zex and you should be ok.

If you want to have the possibility to go with a 100+ shot one day, then NX wet is a popular choice around here that has always gotten good results.

I have the Dynotune Kit, which is very inexpensive, but it's nice. It gets the job done and should be good for up to 150 single stage shot of nitrous.

The most important things you will need to keep in mind is your timing, AFR, and bottle pressure. If your timing is stock, with 1 step colder plugs, with AFR in the high 10s or low 11s, then you should be fine with a 35 or 50 shot.

Personally, I just don't understand how someone can spray nitrous without knowing their exact AFR. So a wideband is a MUST for any size shot of nitrous. But if you are going to get nitrous anyway, don't go with anything higher than a 50 shot without a wideband.