5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

5.5 gen Passenger side HID not working

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2013, 07:28 PM

5.5 gen Passenger side HID not working

Hey guys first dont flame me saying i didnt search i did and i found some information but none of them had follow ups i really need help because im a college student and i have night classes so i dont want to drive with a headlight out all the help will be appreciated

last night i turned on my headlights and the passenger side flickered then turned off so i ran it down the road to give it power and it turned on today i didnt even flicker this time. my high beams work and the little light thats dim works but the low beam thats hid doesnt work. on the facebook 5th gen page people said they think its the ballast. tommorow i will swap the bulbs from the driver to passenger side to see i checked my fuses an hour ago and its snowing over here so i couldnt swap the bulbs.

i believe this is the ballast but it does not look oem to me at all :
Name:  IMG_0215_zpsedee60d3.jpg
Views: 59
Size:  90.5 KB

thanks in advance
Old 03-06-2013, 10:45 PM

anyone i really need help... i been searching this topic since 3 oclock yesterday. im going to try to figure it out in the afternoon
Old 03-06-2013, 10:59 PM

That is not OEM for sure, the OEM is mounted on the bottom of the headlight housing. Do you have OEM headlights or aftermarkets?

Regardless, get a multimeter and disconnect the plug that power (input) the ballast and measure accross it ( NOT THE BALLAST OUTPUT). If you get at least 12 V, then you know that the juice is flowing. Do this on both sides.

It could be ballast, bulb,or bad grounding.
Old 03-06-2013, 11:11 PM