5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Switching to Full Synthetic a bad idea?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2016, 08:39 PM

Switching to Full Synthetic a bad idea?

I've been reading up on full synthetics and how much better they are for your engine. I have been using synthetic blend for the last 16 years, will swtiching to a full synthetic now hurt the car or posssibly expose a leak? Engine has close to 500,000 kms.
Old 12-03-2016, 08:50 PM

Your engine lasted this long on syn blend so I wouldn't rock the boat.

Syn oil this late in the game may slip past worn areas and expose leaks.
Old 12-03-2016, 09:18 PM

mclasser has a point, but: If your car ran fine on synthetic blend, it should run just fine on full synthetic. Synthetic oils don't break down (or break down much less), and they run very clean. In Alberta, with its cold winters, you need all help you can get. During the winter, I would use Mobil 1 0W-30.

Just an opinion. From a former resident and UofA graduate.
Old 12-04-2016, 11:29 AM

Will cause oil leaks, especially from upper oil pan, something not the easiest to reseal
Old 12-06-2016, 08:02 PM
Puerto Rico-Maxima Lover

Do a full flush of the engine and do switch to full syn.... Don't see any problems doing it
Old 12-06-2016, 11:07 PM

Originally Posted by flames101sully
I've been reading up on full synthetics and how much better they are for your engine. I have been using synthetic blend for the last 16 years, will swtiching to a full synthetic now hurt the car or posssibly expose a leak? Engine has close to 500,000 kms.
You've got 500k on the engine - don't fix it if it ain't broke. I think switching to full synthetic could expose leaks, especially with such high mileage. I don't think the marginal gains are worth the potential downsides in this case.