3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

92 SE differential question

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2003, 06:45 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Hi all

The search feature is limited, so I cannot find out if this has been discussed in the past, but I had a question regarding a repair on my car. I have a 1992 Maxima SE, with the VE30DE engine (?? – the DOHC). My CV boots were both gone, so I ended up replacing the limited slip differential along with both axles (my mechanic did, not me). I now find that the power delivery to the wheels is significantly lower compared to before. Also the steering wheel is considerably stiffer than before.

(i) Is this normal? Do I need some break in time?
(ii) Also, since I have limited knowledge, let me ask a possibly stupid question – Can the whole assembly be put backwards, i.e., with the left and right sides exchanged? If so, can that be a cause of the problem?

Thanks for any answers!

--amit
(Amit Mathur)
Old 04-24-2003, 07:00 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I've never heard of anyone replacing the LSD before (not that it cant be done). That would require taking out the transmission and probably taking apart some pieces inside there. Either way, that shouldn't have any efffect on your performance and shouldn't require break-in.
The axles can not be put in the wrong sides - the pass side is about a foot longer than the drivers side one because the tranny is located on the drivers side of the engine bay. These dont need to be broken in either and I dont really think they'd cause any performance difference. I guess they could cause a little difference in steering feel if your old CV joints were worn pretty badly.
Old 04-24-2003, 07:04 AM
Back in a 3rd Gen.

Re: 92 SE differential question

hmm I am no expert on import transmissions but I beleive the limited slip diff. is internal...why would he replace that?