3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Shifting Problem...

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2005, 09:35 PM

Shifting Problem...

Ok, I am sure I already know the answer to my question, but I am a poor college student and I am hoping that someone would know a way to buy me some time. The trans on my 91 Maxima will shift into third gear (auto trans) but then will slip like crazy. The only way to drive the car without it sleeping is to keep it in second gear. It will not shift into fourth gear at all. Any ideas... Anything will help, without a car I cant get to school/work. Also, it just started do it on thursday... I woke up thursday morning and my apartment complex is on some automatic towing thing where they tow cars if the license place is expired... The license plate was not expired but I did not recieve my new sticker yet in the mail so I was able to show my reciept and get the car out of the tow yard for free... I noticed that the car was broken into with a slim jim by the tow guys... I did not drive the car all weekend because my roomate was out of town and he let me use his BMW all weekend. Any Ideas guys?

Thanks in advance guys...

Matt
Old 09-06-2005, 09:55 PM
¯\(°_o)/¯

Once a auto tranny starts slipping as bad as yours is it's not long before it quits all together...Not much that i know of that prolong one except babying it around,and driving it as little as possible until you get up the$$$ to fix or replace it...The "parts for sale/wanted"
section might have a good used one f/s....Sorry i could not help you more....
Old 09-06-2005, 09:59 PM
¯\(°_o)/¯

Here is one....http://forums.maxima.org/showthread.php?t=426834
Old 09-07-2005, 07:36 AM

Thanks MyGreenMax... This really really sucks
Old 09-07-2005, 07:39 AM

Also... there is no way that the towing company could have messed up the car while towing it?
Old 09-07-2005, 07:46 AM

Originally Posted by Winds50