3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Help a newbie drive stick (me!)

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2001, 05:07 PM

I've been driving an automatic for 5 years now and this week I got a VE 5 spd. It's like learning how to drive all over again. Heck i don't even know where reverse is..
Can someone draw or create a diagram of where the gears are? And how do i stop & make turns?
Gosh it feels weird using both feet and trying to step on those little pedals
TIA
Old 05-27-2001, 07:19 PM

this may help

1 3 5
2 4 R

i think everyone should be required to learn how to drive a stick before they can get their liscense.
Old 05-28-2001, 05:57 AM

dude i agree, it is so much more fun! i hate driving automatic (except in traffic), you have more of a KICK and you can takes turns pretty tight. once you learn, you wont even think about it. i suggest trying to drive it in parking lot before going on the rode...hehe...my dad was like get in, sit down, quit whining, and get on the rode, very humours first drives

If you ever stuck on a big hill and are afraid of rolling back, pull up the parking brake some and then let it off as you go forward
Old 05-28-2001, 07:15 AM
Ad·min·is·tra·tor

a few rules...
be gentle w/ the shifter and the clutch...don't force it in gears.
whenever u move the shifter step on the clutch all the way down.
when moving from standing still get a feel for the car where the car would move in relation to the clutch pedal...don't apply any gas and you should move very slowly. once u master the spot where the clutch catches then you can start giving it a little gas.
just go slow and rev low until u got the shift pattern down. if you're unsure try going through the shift patterns when the car is off.
when going to reverse you have to netural it then go right and back to get to reverse. good luck
Old 05-28-2001, 10:36 AM

Thanks for the advice.