3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Bodywork/repair questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 08:26 AM

Bodywork/repair questions

Hello all. I have been gone from the .org for awhile because my max has been out of commission since february, and i simultaneously got laid off from work.
Well, I'm now ready to start the process of repairing my car, and I have some questions. First, my car was hit on the right side, just in front of the right front tire. The fender has been pushed in a bit, and the corner light was smashed (I'll post pics later). The bumper corner below my cornering light was pushed in a bit, as well. First, do you guys think that I will have to replace the entire bumper cover in order to repair this damage? I am for sure going to replace the fender. I am not experienced with body work, and so I will likely be taking it to a body shop since I am not claiming this on my insurance since I only have liability (by the way I have a '94 black emerald SE auto). Does anyone have a ballpark figure on how much this will cost? Also, the car was drivable after this accident, but a few weeks later, the car had problems. I was on a 45mph road when I lost power, and the engine sounded really deep, like something just happened with my exhaust. It was hard for the car to shift, and it barely could get past 50mph. Acceleration was ridiculously slow. I asked a friend of mine who is a mechanic, and he said it could be a plugged cat. Does anyone know anything about this or have any experience with this? Sorry for the long thread, but I'm really anxious to get my max back on the road and in good condition. Life has been rough without it!
thanks!
Old 04-18-2007, 08:40 AM