3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Some Tech Questions?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2002, 06:30 PM

Some Tech Questions?

Hey guys,
I have a few questions first, What is boost? I have seen alot of gauges for it, and people saying it's important, but I don't know waht the hell it is. Also is it more important to have torque, or horsepower? Is it possible to add torque? Sorry for the questions, but I'm a newbie. Also what is coilover suspension?
Thanks
Chris
Old 03-16-2002, 08:33 PM

Re: Some Tech Questions?

Originally posted by samabra
Hey guys,
I have a few questions first, What is boost? I have seen alot of gauges for it, and people saying it's important, but I don't know waht the hell it is. Also is it more important to have torque, or horsepower? Is it possible to add torque? Sorry for the questions, but I'm a newbie. Also what is coilover suspension?
Thanks
Chris
Boost is what a turbo or a supercharger provides. It refers to the pressure created by a turbo or SC. A boost gage is normally only found on cars with turbos or SC's. Unless you're a real ricer.
Torque is twisting force of your motor. More torque basically provides greater acelleration. All out HP generally results in hight top end. These are just sorta results as opposed to textbook definitions.
Coilovers are usually ride-height adjustable. Crank em up to drive around and slam it for shows. It's a spring with the shock down through the center basically. I'm sure several people will elaborate, but that's the jist of it.
Old 03-16-2002, 08:35 PM

Re: Some Tech Questions?

Originally posted by samabra
Hey guys,
Thanks
Chris