4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

NY Laws

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2001, 01:57 AM

anybody from NY, know about the license plate laws here?
i wanna shave off my front liscense plate holder to get that clean look, but whats the local laws say on that?? Anyone know the website where i can look up motor laws? thanks
Old 02-16-2001, 05:00 AM

You must have a front mounted license plate in NYS. nm

nm
Old 02-16-2001, 07:06 AM

Re: You must have a front mounted license plate in NYS. nm

Originally posted by Albertt
nm
Oh really. The How do they sell the Corvette??? No Front Plate... Just a Bumper...

You MUST have a REAR plate..

I will leave myself some wiggle room, I am not a Lawyer ( thank god) and do not have the legal info in front of me. However i have had many friends with Corvettes... No front plate, ( their is just no place to put it)
Old 02-16-2001, 07:55 AM
spyder

you should by law have a front plate , most of the cops wont pull you over for it, a friend of mine doesnt have front plates on his car.... but keeps the plate in his trunk. all you have to do to take it off its take the bolts off and presto ... very clean looking car.....

Old 02-16-2001, 08:46 AM

I believe the law is

well at least here in Canada,

if the car comes with front license plates at purchase, then you are required to always have front license plates

Cars like the Corvette will not normally come w/ 2.

Its a scam i tell you.
Old 02-16-2001, 08:46 AM

Someone ask for an attorney????

Heres the REAL state statute (YOU DO NEED A FRONT PLATE!)> Just b/c your friend's Vettes may not have front plates doesn't make it legal-they just aint got caught yet:

MCKINNEY'S CONSOLIDATED LAWS OF NEW YORK ANNOTATED
VEHICLE AND TRAFFIC LAW
CHAPTER SEVENTY-ONE OF THE CONSOLIDATED LAWS
TITLE IV--REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES
ARTICLE 14--REGISTRATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES