4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Attn danie martin

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2001, 12:42 PM

I have a question for you and other Maxima pro's

I have noticed that my 97 GLE maxima drive axle is leaking oil and mechanic said it must be replaced, he quoted me $800 to replace it with refurbished axle. car has 40k miles now so the question is that can it be replaced under nissan 60k power train warranty? or power train is only for engine and tranny?

Also let me know price of replacing drive axle or its called rack axle? you know in front rack where 2 wheels mount, I am not good with car terms.

If $800 is too much, then what is real price for this kind of work?

let me know as much of info if possible.

Thanks!
Old 04-06-2001, 02:17 PM

Originally posted by cooler2000
I have a question for you and other Maxima pro's

I have noticed that my 97 GLE maxima drive axle is leaking oil and mechanic said it must be replaced, he quoted me $800 to replace it with refurbished axle. car has 40k miles now so the question is that can it be replaced under nissan 60k power train warranty? or power train is only for engine and tranny?

Also let me know price of replacing drive axle or its called rack axle? you know in front rack where 2 wheels mount, I am not good with car terms.

If $800 is too much, then what is real price for this kind of work?

let me know as much of info if possible.

Thanks!
You addressed this post to me "or other Nissan pro's". I want to make it clear that I am a D-I-Y mechanic. D-I-Y means Do-It-Yourself. In other words, I am a hobbyist, an amateur, a shade-tree mechanic.