4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Help please-just finished brakes all around

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2005, 03:02 PM

Help please-just finished brakes all around

Man this is startin to really bug me. Last weekend i replaced the right rear caliper, and then last night (tuesday) i received my brembo blanks(front) and RTP blanks(rear) with the Ultimate pads, the SS brake lines, and blue brake fluid. I started late (8pm) and i only got the front rotors pads done and this morning i did the rear and bled the holy crap out of all calipers. But when i took it for a test drive, it just doesnt feel right. I feel kinda ignorant cuz here i am a graduate of UTI WITH toyota and i cant figure out what the hell is wrong.
i was talkin to a tech i work with and he told me to be careful with the blue brake fluid, so i freaked out seeing how my car is 8 years old with I BELIEVE factory pads/rotors fluid. (87K) so i went to autozone and purchased a 32oz of Prestone Brake fluid.
to begin with, the brake lines that connects from the hard line to the flexible line, the bolt was seized or something cuz i sprayed it with PB blaster let it sit for 25 min and it just kept trying to round itself out, so SS lines is out of the picture.
2) After test driving it, i get like a "WHOMP WHOMP WHOMP" while driving, and a scraping sound (this sound [scraping] i presume is normal cuz our lexus at work do that with new brake jobs)
3) For those who have replace pads and rotors, what do u do to break them in?
4) should i have used the Blue brake fluid instead of prestone brake dot 3 for the "performance pads/rotors" i got?
Old 09-21-2005, 05:57 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

What do you mean "doesn't feel right"? Doesn't slow? Pulsates? Mushy? Sinks?
What specifically is the blue brake fluid?
Are you getting the "whomp" and scraping sounds only while braking?