4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Engine question?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2006, 05:08 PM

Engine question?

i just bought a '96 Maxima Auto with a blown motor for $500. now i came across a motor that came out of a '99 Maxima for $600. my question is, did anything change from the '96 engine to the '99 or is everything the same and all the connectors should plug in into the '96 harness? also, is it possible to take out the motor with tranny or does it have to come out individually? im new to the 4th gens so bare with me guys. one more thing, is there any way to find out how many miles the '99 motor has? supposebly the motor has been sittin' in storage for almost a year and a half and when i saw it there were no signs of oil leakage. the whole engine looks practically brand new just that its been sittin' in storage and collected about 1/4 of an inch of dust. once i have this engine in my hands what should i replace while im at it before swappin' it into the '96? i have pics of the car in my cardomain site at the bottom of my 1st page so feel free.

Rick
Old 01-18-2006, 05:24 PM

anybody???
Old 01-18-2006, 05:28 PM
Do I get a tax break?

Thats a whole lot of questions ...

The engine should be a direct swap (harness, etc.)
Check the tensioner, waterpump before swapping it in (since it's been sitting so long)

Not sure if you can drop both together.

No way to find out the miles
Old 01-18-2006, 05:38 PM