4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

So...it was a rough night

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2006, 04:59 PM

So...it was a rough night

Just a little story I thought I'd share with fellow 4th gen owners. I work in a shop and put in my new alternator today (brand new bought off of some wholesale site online), put on a new belt, fired the car up and everything was great. Battery light and brake light went out, just as I had expected. Of course I was dumb and never tested the alternator to make sure it was charging because I "assumed" that since it was brand new and not a rebuilt that I wouldn't have a problem. I'll put it this way...I made it about 15 miles before my car simply died due to the battery being drained (and I'm surprised I even made it that far running on just the battery). So it was a long night calling AAA and having the max towed back to work so I can tend to it tomorrow. Moral of my story...check charging system after installing alternator to make sure it's actually working
Old 01-25-2006, 05:21 PM
YoU CaNt SeE mE

Originally Posted by bhmax16