4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

New but old

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 11:23 AM

New but old

I am a past member of the forum. I have been driving a chevy implala for the last 5 years and now I am looking into purchasing a 1998 Max SE. It is a five speed in which I never truly have learned to drive. What should I look for and what are common issues with the 98's.
Old 02-26-2009, 11:50 AM

I would check the feel of the clutch to make sure it isnt on its way ot, witch may be difficult being that you said you need to learn howq to drive it. also i would go under the car and see if the CV boots are ripped/making noise while turning at slow speeds. Obviously any mayjor leeks under the car, fluid/exhaust. Also push up and down on the fenders to try ti make the struts creek, might be a sign there on there way out, possibly the car was driven rough if any of these simple problems are present and grounds to get the price reduced. Good luck.

you will pick up the manul 5 speed easy in that car
Old 02-26-2009, 11:58 AM

Originally Posted by 1997MAXZ
I would check the feel of the clutch to make sure it isnt on its way ot, witch may be difficult being that you said you need to learn howq to drive it. also i would go under the car and see if the CV boots are ripped/making noise while turning at slow speeds. Obviously any mayjor leeks under the car, fluid/exhaust. Also push up and down on the fenders to try ti make the struts creek, might be a sign there on there way out, possibly the car was driven rough if any of these simple problems are present and grounds to get the price reduced. Good luck.

you will pick up the manul 5 speed easy in that car
Dude...seriously. Reading your post gave me a headache.

OP, check for rust issues and timing chain noise as well as the above suggestions.
Old 02-26-2009, 12:05 PM