4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Detailed Instructions On How To Remove And Install Injectors With Detailed Pictures

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 10:29 PM

Detailed Instructions On How To Remove And Install Injectors With Detailed Pictures

First off, I know there are already a few how-tos on the removal and installation of injectors but I didn't find any that were comprehensive and detailed so I decided to write my own.

Changing my injectors became a necessity because my car has been cold stalling and my dealer tested my injectors and they're gummed up and running too lean.

I am by no means a mechanic so I am sure other more experienced members on the org will have techniques that are different or better than mine. These instructions are for removing the front three injectors. I'm fairly certain that the rear three is the same procedure except you have to remove the UIM (upper intake manifold) to get at them.

Here is the link to remove the UIM:
http://forums.maxima.org/4th-generat...im-w-pics.html

I'm detailed so I like to round up all the tools that I feel are necessary for the job at hand. I apologize for the grouped photos but the org only allows for I believe 5 photos per post, so I had to combine them.

Here is a list of tools I used to remove and install the new injectors.

L to R

Rubber Mallet: To gently tap upside down rubber-handled screwdriver to seat injector

Metal Hammer: Used to tap 5 inch metal-rod phillips driver bit on screws to loosen them.

LED Head Lamp: Invaluable when working on cars, gets the light exactly where you're looking.