4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

My bose HU doesn't turn on, did it die?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 09:13 PM

My bose HU doesn't turn on, did it die?

Okay, heres the story. BTW MODS, I'm only posting here as I feel I'd get a quicker response; if the thread needs to be moved, please do so.

I was doing the foglight rewire mod. I was by myself. I had been working with the neg terminal off. So as I would test to see if I had done right, I would reconnect the terminal and place the keys in the ON setting. I carelessly left the keys in on and put the terminal back on, only to be followed by the clicking of what I think is the starter (Im a car noob, atleast I'm honest) All in all, the rewire was successful. It wasn't until a few hours I realized that my HU stopped working; it wouldn't turn on. Now either its pure coincidence that the day I work with wires it died,or I shorted my HU in the process. I checked all the fuses related to audio and they're all fine, so my theory is that its just a coincidence. BUT also another nooby comment, the lights inside the HU still turn on when i turn my lights on.

Any help is greatly appreciated, I've already started saving up for a new HU as I'm prepared to have it confirmed that my HU is just a hunk of metal now.

thanks in advance
Old 11-09-2010, 02:04 AM

It does sound like the hu died on you. I had a hu that where the speakers stopped working one by one but the display looked fine. Also, the problem was different depending on if I was using a CD or the radio or the tape, but then the whole thing died.
Old 11-09-2010, 05:45 AM

Originally Posted by Idrivea98Maxima
Okay, heres the story. BTW MODS, I'm only posting here as I feel I'd get a quicker response; if the thread needs to be moved, please do so.