4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

First Time, Nooblicous DEK swap. Need help guys, NY'ers welcome!! Brooklyn!

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2011, 10:18 AM

First Time, Nooblicous DEK swap. Need help guys, NY'ers welcome!! Brooklyn!

So before I start, I'd appreciate If the answers are in hyperlink form to a write up. I have searched through the forums and It's so hard for a noob to understand the terms and abbreviations. Thank you and greatly appreciated in advance

Ok, So this is the first car I bought, It's an 95 max with 97 bumpers. Being this is my first time buying a car, I was VERY ignorant didn't know anything I was doing. I bought the car for 1500$ the guy said It was very good, HID headlights, leather interior, 5 speed, black on black zen rims., Injen Cai, "performance headers and exhaust", power seats and etc. etc. So It sounded like a great deal and he said it ran. So that same day I drove home the engine started smoking I pulled over and i see a small fire on the wires connected from the starter, so I put it out with a bottle of water, but the car still turned on and ran fine. Then it stalled at a red light. My friend then pushed it to the curb for me. It turned out the car overheated and the coolant was empty. I let it sit for an hour and half and put more coolant in, and drove home. 2 days later the exhaust started smoking really bad and smelled like antifreeze. It turns out i have a blown head gasket. but the car still turned on and ran but sometimes I would have to bang the starter to crank the car. Now when i turn on the car It would just idle and died so my alternator went out too! Big headache.