4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Complete noob, need help!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2012, 08:40 PM

Complete noob, need help!!

I know i know, nobody likes a noob but i need some help on where to start with engine performance upgrades. Should i start with intake, headers, and exhaust? Or jump right in to block work? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Old 06-28-2012, 09:01 PM

Find yourself a equal-length y-pipe and take it from there. Take care of maintenance first.
Old 06-28-2012, 09:26 PM

Do maintenance first (seafoam, change oil, clean throttle body & MAF, etc.).

Basic performance mods include: GAB mod or intake, Warpspeed Y-pipe, test pipe, 2.5"catback.

The more involved performance mods include: MEVI swap, Cams, some kind of piggyback ECU, and tune.
Old 06-28-2012, 09:31 PM

Maintenance before mods. Make sure everything is in good working condition first.
Old 06-28-2012, 09:38 PM

well first of all what are your mechanical skills? do you have tools or do you have access to a shop with a lift and so on... but like everyone said first thing will be to get the car up to maintenance... I would drive it for a while after you check everything and make sure there are no surprises... the y pipe and the muffler could be replaced just a regular maintenance if rust has taken over... also be super careful when you clean the TB... I do know for a fact that the Idle Control Valve is very sensitive on the 5th gen...
Old 06-29-2012, 04:53 AM

Thanks everyone for the advice, tools and a place to work are solid. I will get started on the maintenance asap and go from there. Will have more questions haha, but i will keep posted and hopefully get some pictures up. Thanks again
Old 07-01-2012, 09:37 AM