4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

can't get a mechanic to fix an intake leak, sigh

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2018, 10:04 AM

can't get a mechanic to fix an intake leak, sigh

i tried to have a shop i've never used before fix an intake leak i've had and have tried to fix unsuccessfully. i left the car monday, i know what i've done to the car, and they didn't call me after having the car all day.

i call tuesday morning and the response i get is" well, if you want to come and get the car, come and get the car. we found multiple codes, ( 3 ) and it would take 850.00 to 1,000.00 or more to fix.

the code i already had was 0505, which could be iacv , that's new. knock sensor ( bs also new ) and 0300, all relating back to the intake leak which can cause the k/s and 0300 to pop up.
i know my car, and know it's an upper or lower intake issue, or a metal hose leaking underneath the egr valve i just replaced. apparently know one wants to work on the car cause i know too much and they think it's going to be a nightmare to take apart even though i've told them what i've fixed.

they either don't want to work on it at all, or want to rebuild the intake and replace a bunch of parts that don't need replacing. has it gotten this bad that just cause my car is 23 years old that know one wants to touch it anymore?

anyone in Montgomery county that knows a decent "honest" mechanic, or can help me find and fix this, you would have my eternal gratitude.
Old 03-07-2018, 10:11 AM

One way of finding an intake leak is to spray a combustible fluid or gas around the engine while it is running. The more combustible the stuff, the smaller the leak detection and also the further away from the leak. People have used lots of different things such as starting fluid (ether), brake cleaner, propane.