4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Shifting with a SC?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2002, 08:39 PM

Shifting with a SC?

Hey, i bought a a new max over teh weekend (will sell my old one), I'll post the specs on this beast later, but it has a SC (and intercooler from a volvo) and too much custom work to mention. It is 5spd, is shifting any different with the SC? Some questions: what are teh max speeds to be in each gear, like when racing or say downshifting? How do you best launch a SC max when racing from start or roll? Thanks.

I've been driving stick for a week, so I'm no expert, but getting better by the day.
Old 05-22-2002, 01:10 PM

c'mon guys

bump
Old 05-22-2002, 01:17 PM
MaximaFreak

Re: Shifting with a SC?

Originally posted by brodaiga
Hey, i bought a a new max over teh weekend (will sell my old one), I'll post the specs on this beast later, but it has a SC (and intercooler from a volvo) and too much custom work to mention. It is 5spd, is shifting any different with the SC? Some questions: what are teh max speeds to be in each gear, like when racing or say downshifting? How do you best launch a SC max when racing from start or roll? Thanks.

I've been driving stick for a week, so I'm no expert, but getting better by the day.
How much did you get it for? What year is it? What other mods are done?
Old 05-22-2002, 01:20 PM

Max speed in each gear will be the same as a non-S/Ced maxima. That is based on gear ratio, you'll just hit your redline alot quicker with the S/C. Search around for a dyno sheet for a S/Ced maxima and see where the peak power is, then use that as your shift point.
Old 05-22-2002, 02:43 PM
Banned

please post some more info on this intercooler... sounds interesting.
Old 05-22-2002, 06:52 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Shift at redline. Peak boost dosent happen till redline.