5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

MAX Handling was Awesome!!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2003, 07:34 AM

MAX Handling was Awesome!!!

Hey Guys,

First of all I was able to get the RSB problem fixed and thanks again for all your adivise.

Now to yesterday when I went out to the track. The last time I went to gingerman in MI, I just had the Eibach and Tokico Blues. Now w/. the FSTB and RSB, I was just amazed at the handling. I couldn't believe that the car could take sharp corners at such high speed without any body roll. I'm still a novice at the track so I was in the beginners group, but I was able to hang w/. the WRX and actually did overtake a couple WRX's on the back and front straightaways... I was actually a little surprised that I was able to pull on the WRX on the straightway...perhaps it all depends on how you exit the turn....

Anyway, yesterday was quite eventful...Saw a brand new M3 blow it's engine (the same problem all of us have heard about the M3 engines), then a '99 M3 rolled over too (this one was pretty bad)...thank God the driver survived...No one could believe that he came out fine, when all of us look at how bad the car was damaged...the entire roof caved in, the Chassis was completely bent...but the best part was about a Tang guy braggin about his 5.0...the guy blew his engine in the second session...

Oh btw, I just have the Stainless Steel brake lines and Porterfield brake pads and the brakes held up pretty good (very minimum fade)...but I want to upgrade to a big brake kit...if anyone has any opinions, please feel free to comment...I'm thinking about either the wilwood or the 1pc AP Racing Stillen Kit (2pc is way expensive)...let me know.

I have a 2k1 5spd w/. Greddy Catback, Cattman y-pipe, Stillen HiFlow intake, RSB and STS, Custom Maxima FSTB and Eibach & Tokico Blues.
Old 04-20-2003, 08:15 AM

Re: MAX Handling was Awesome!!!