5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Need some Advice/Help..

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2003, 02:06 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Need some Advice/Help..

Hey guys,

I bought my Maxima SE right when the 5th Gen. came out (in August/Sept of 1999 I believe).. I've since played the part of the regular old consumer and have never done anything to it (no mods, no tints, no rims, etc.).. However, I'll be starting to work soon and rather than buy a new car, I've decided I love my Max too much to give it up - hence the decision to enter the wonderful world of mods/upgrades..

Here's my problem.. I'm studying for the bar exam (no not the kind of bar I wish it was) and that's taking up most of my free time. I've spent more than a few hours reading through all of the various threads on this forum (and many of them have been extremely helpful), including all of the "How Tos" for the 5th Gen. Max, in an effort to learn both the lingo and exactly what modifications are possible in my price range (approx ~ 2-3k); however, I found both the FAQs and many posts I read just, for lack of a better word(s), "outta my league".. I don't know what a Y-Pipe does.. I don't know if I need to even change my shocks/brakes (and what effect it would have on my performance), I don't know if I should upgrade my 17" inch rims to 18s or 19s (might slow my car down), etc al. Heck, I don't even know what a good tint job is supposed to run (and what % to get)..