5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Exhaust - opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2003, 08:27 AM

Exhaust - opinions?

I'm a Maxima newbie that would appreciate any input on choosing an exhaust setup. I'd like increased performance with just a little increase in sound - something deeper though. I'm staying away from the ricer sound and would like something with a rumble, but not super loud. I'm coming from a supercharged '88 Mustang w/long tube headers, three inch exhaust, no cats, and Flowmaster 2 chamber mufflers, and I'm just not interested in setting off car alarms anymore. For best performance should I just do cat-back, or Y pipe, or what? Any help would be great. Thanks.
Old 06-15-2003, 10:47 AM

warpspeed Y and Greedy Cat-back...
Old 06-15-2003, 02:07 PM

dont just get the muffler.... get a full exhaust.
Old 06-15-2003, 02:35 PM

So, get the Y and some sort of cat-back?
Old 06-15-2003, 03:07 PM

Originally posted by ukeyman
So, get the Y and some sort of cat-back?
Y + cat-back will be pretty loud
Old 06-15-2003, 05:49 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Dont waiste your money on a $500+ Greddy. Although I love Greddy, I have been watching Ebay for the Exhaust I just picked up. I picked up an OBX Cat-Back on ebay for $202. I was very impressed with the OBX engineering. It fit like a glove and even the muffler shop guy was impressed. The system sounds great, but I think they didn't put a large enough Resonator on the system because there is some gurgle and the car sounds like a mustang between 2k-3k rpm.

The system looks just like the Greddy and the power is noticable at top end. I recommend. As for the Y-pipe, I am personally waiting for the real deal to come from Stillen.

Good luck.
Old 06-15-2003, 09:17 PM

CATTMAN Cat-Back Exhaust System
Old 06-17-2003, 03:27 PM