5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

K&N

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2004, 07:48 AM
It's business time.

K&N

I'm thinking about getting a K&N drop in air filter. I had one on my TL and I liked it, I know there were threads on this site but I can't do a search, can someone possibly provide me with some links to threads on this topic. And/or give me any valuable information. I was considering the Frankencar intake instead but I'm not very mechanical and I don't want to have to worry about the dealer mechanic if something needs fixing.
Old 02-18-2004, 08:12 AM

Don’t do it, it (may) will hurt your MAF (mass air flow sensor)

There are no gains with a drop-in K&N, the only thing that helps is a real intake, which also may cause your MAF to blow.
Old 02-18-2004, 08:17 AM

I've been running a K&N drop in for close to six months now and I haven't had any problems. I would be more afraid of putting a CAI on and blowing the MAI.
Old 02-18-2004, 09:23 AM

The MAF issues have been resolved for quite some time. The only ones blowing were in certain model numbers. Get the Berk intake, it's not much more in price than the drop in and you will get good results. The drop in K&N is definately a waste of money. If you want to go a step further get the Berk midpipe to get your full potential out of the intake. Intakes are very easy to install. It was the first mod I've ever done to a car (my maxima) and I had no problems. We are here to help you through the install if need be, but it shouldn't take more than an hour at the very, very most.
Old 02-18-2004, 10:05 AM

I've been running a K&N for 2 years with no problems.

What really hurts the engine performance is the "CAI". All they really do is suck in HOT air from the engine compartment. Sure, they add some HP to the top range, but low range suffers due to this.
Old 02-18-2004, 10:37 AM