5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

tint

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2007, 03:19 PM

tint

Hi friends! Happy holiday! Question.. I'm planning on tinting my Maxima tomorrow, (2002) and I have a question about it. I've noticed that our windows have a light factory film on them. I am new at tinting so this is just an experiment. If I screw up and have to strip the tint off, do I risk removing the factory film? I would try to remove it with the bag trick first, and if that doesn't work, I would result to a razor blade, but I am afraid of damaging that light factory tint that comes with the car. Any advice?

PS: I am not doing the back window, just the front and rear two side windows.

Thanks!
Oxygen
Old 05-27-2007, 05:24 PM
10 psi

factory tint is in the glass. if you have a film on there you should be able to tell. i tint for a living and to save your self a head ache, take it to someone with experience, trust me your car will look ghetto if you do it yourself.

btw don't use cheap film unless you like purple and faded windows. 3M colorstable is my personal choice.
Old 05-27-2007, 05:48 PM

i second that its worth it to pay a reputable shop to do it otherwise itll lookk like s***
Old 05-27-2007, 06:01 PM

unless you are a professional. it will get you really frustrated getting it right.
Old 05-27-2007, 07:00 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Which is better lumar or suntek?
Old 05-27-2007, 09:02 PM
10 psi

both are good. llumar has been around awhile and it always depends on what "level" you go with. stick with 3m it won't dissapoint.

i use some suntek hp/fx series, it will eventually fade but its easier to install and some people want tint as cheap as possible so thats what i use (lasts 3-5 years before changing color or fading). some people don't like suntek and say its cheap, i dissagree but to each there own. i think suntek hp looks better than 3m but 3m lasts longer.