5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

A bunch of problems need alot of help please

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2011, 10:21 PM

A bunch of problems need alot of help please

Well i am new to these forums and new to maximas but not to cars. I am a new mechanic and work at a mechanic spot so i know some stuff about cars. Ok so first this car is my girlfriends and she dont know how to take care of her stuff. So first she her car is a 2000 maxima. It has the SES light on also with the TCS light and SLIP light on. The TCS switch is located right under the TCS light on the dashboard and still does nothing. I researched this problem some people say it could be a bad wheel sensor and/or alternator and/or battery. ANy other things it can be? How can i go on diagnosing this problem? Next her gear sometimes gets stuck when trying to put it in drive from park or any gear from park even when the brake is fully depressed. What could be the problem? Next her car's idle goes under 500 sometimes when started. Like it will start then drop to like 400 then go back up. It happens sometimes. Also related to that problem is that she says sometimes when she starts her car the rpm's go up like its about to start but then just goes down and dies and all the lights come on the dashboard. Can that be a Idle air control valve? What else could it be? Next her car vibrates sometimes when you put it in drive. I thought it might be a motor mount. Any other things it could be? I know this is alot of problems but im ready to fix all of it myself. Thanks guys i appreciate everything.
Old 07-11-2011, 11:11 PM

Have you had the spark plugs changed recently or any work done to the engine? I only ask that because when I changed my spark plugs, one of my ignition coil wires wasn't connected completely and I had the TCS,SES, and SLIP lights on. Also my engine vibrated like crazy especially on start up.